HomeProgramEvents ▶ Opening Ceremony
Opening Ceremony

Saturday, May 18
4:30 to 5:30 p.m.
Kay Bailey Hutchison Convention Center DallasMary E. Klotman, MD

ATS 2019 will officially kick off with the Opening Ceremony, featuring Mary E. Klotman, MD, dean of the Duke University School of Medicine and Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs. Dr. Klotman will share her insights on the importance of teams and mentors throughout her career, as well as her vision for the future.

Klotman earned her undergraduate (zoology) and medical degrees from Duke, then completed her internal medicine residency and a fellowship in Infectious Diseases in the Department of Medicine at Duke. She became assistant professor of medicine before moving to the National Institutes of Health, where she was a member of the Public Health Service and trained and worked in the Laboratory of Tumor Cell Biology under the direction of Robert Gallo, MD.

In 1994, Klotman joined the faculty at Mount Sinai School of Medicine in New York City, where she was a tenured professor of medicine and microbiology, and held the Irene and Dr. Arthur M. Fishberg Chair in Infectious Diseases. She also served as chief of the Division of Infectious Diseases for 13 years, and as co-director of Mount Sinai’s Global Health and Emerging Pathogens Institute.

An accomplished clinician and scientist, Klotman’s research interests are focused on the molecular pathogenesis of Human Immunodeficiency Virus 1 (HIV-1). Among many important contributions to this field, Klotman and her team demonstrated that HIV resides in and evolves separately in kidney cells, a critical step in HIV-associated kidney disease. Most recently, her group has been defining the role of integrase-defective lentiviral vectors for the delivery of an HIV vaccine.

Klotman is editor of Annual Reviews of Medicine. She was elected to the Academy of Medicine in 2014, is a councilor and president-elect of the Association of American Physicians, and past president of the Association of Professors of Medicine. She is a former president of Duke Medical Alumni Association, and received a Duke School of Medicine Distinguished Alumni Award in 2015.

Also during the Opening Ceremony will be an address by ATS President Polly Parsons, MD, ATSF, and the presentation of the Public Service Award, World Lung Health Award, and Jo Rae Wright Award for Outstanding Science.