Early Career Professionals

HomeProgramEarly Career Professionals ▶ Finalists Announced – ATS 2019 BEAR Cage
Finalists Announced – ATS 2019 BEAR Cage


Monday, May 20
  1– 3 p.m.
Science and Innovation Center
Kay Bailey Hutchison Convention Center
Hall B (Level 2)

At the beginning of 2019, we received a wide range of research proposals by early career investigators to the ATS BEAR (Building Education to Advance Research) Cage Competition. The fifth annual ATS BEAR Cage is hosted by the Drug Device Discovery and Development (DDDD) Committee and will award a check to the winner to support their research project.

Our call for applications asked for research proposals that represented the three ATS pillars – pulmonary, critical care, and sleep medicine. We received many applications from all over the world in each of these subjects, spotlighting the unique point of view of early-stage investigators.

The ATS DDDD Committee chose their top three submissions as finalists and invited them to come and present at the ATS International Conference.

Here are the ATS 2019 BEAR Cage finalists in alphabetical order:

BEAR Cage- Campbell

Adrienne Campbell-Washburn, PhD
Staff Scientist - MR Technology Program
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI)
Functional Lung MRI

BEAR Cage- Gordon

Scott M. Gordon, PhD
Assistant Professor, Saha Cardiovascular Research Center
University of Kentucky
Targeting Pulmonary Protease Activity with an HDL-Binding Protease Inhibitor Peptide

BEAR Cage- Pannu

Jasleen Pannu, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine, Director, Interventional Pulmonology Translational Research
Ohio State University
Steerable Electromagnetic Navigation Guided Endobronchial Radial Ultrasound with Biopsy Needle

These finalists have been invited to pitch their highly innovative research proposals to a panel of translational science experts representing academia, industry, and governmental sectors in front of a live audience on Monday, May 21 from 1 – 3 p.m. in the Science and Innovation Center.

The panel, with audience Q&A participation, will vet the proposals with each presenter and ultimately award $10,000 to the winner and $2,500 to each of the runner-up proposals. All three finalists also receive yearlong mentorship from members of the DDDD Committee. Watch the presentations, ask a follow-up question to an investigator, stay to network with experts in translational science, or simply enjoy the exciting competition at this great event!

All are invited and welcome to attend.

FAQ – Do you have questions about what to expect at our event or wonder what past finalists and winners are doing now? Please visit our FAQ page for this information and more!

For further questions about the competition or to be notified when the application process will open for ATS 2020 in Philadelphia, please send an email to dddd@thoracic.org.


For any questions about the competition and to submit your application please send an email to dddd@thoracic.org.

Sean Agbor

Sean Agbor-Enoh, MD, PhD from the NHLBI (left) was selected as the 2018 BEAR Cage winner for his proposal on “Early Treatment of Antibody-Mediated Rejection to Improve Outcomes.” Dr. Agbor-Enoh was awarded the grand prize of $5,000 for his project. The two runner-up finalists, Carlos Barrero, MD from Temple University School of Pharmacy (“Identifying Novel Disease Modifying Drugs for the Treatment of Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Diseases”) and Jatinder K. Juss, MD, PhD, FRCPC, from the Keenan Research Institute for Biomedical Science at St Michael’s Hospital, Toronto (“NEMISIS (NEutrophil MEchanical StabillSation): A novel extracorporeal technology to modulate and monitor pathological inflammatory responses of neutrophils (PMN) in acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS)” were each awarded $2,500 for their work. All finalists receive a distance mentor from the DDDD Committee to help them further develop their projects during the ensuing year.

2018 Bear Cage Finalists
ATS 2018 BEAR Cage Finalists and Competition Co-Chairs. From left to right: Jatinder K. Juss, MD, PhD, FRCPC; Sean Agbor-Enoh, MD, PhD; BEAR Cage Co-Chair and DDDD Vice Chair, Gregory B. Diette, MD; BEAR Cage Co-Chair, Mark S. Forshag, MHA, MD; and Carlos Barrero, MD.