Public Service Awardees

HomeAboutConference History ▶ Public Service Awardees

The Public Service Award recognizes contributions to public and population health equity related to, for example, improvement of air quality, eradication of tobacco usage, prevention of lung disease, advocacy, improved management of communicable respiratory diseases, or improvement in the ethical delivery, and access to healthcare in areas related to lung diseases, sleep health, or critical care.

2001 A. Sonia Buist, MD
2002 No award presented
2003 ATS Public Advisory Roundtable
2004 Claude Lenfant, MD
2005 Dileep G. Bal, MD, MPH
2006 Jonathan M. Samet, MD, MS
2007 Carolyne Sue Byrnes
2008 John W. Walsh
2009 John L. Hankinson, PhD
2010 Stephen M. Winter, MD
2011 David J. Prezant, MD
2012 No award presented
2013 Kathleen Kreiss, MD
2014 Robert Hyzy, MD
2015 Floyd J. Malveaux, MD, PhD
2016 John R. Balmes, MD
2017 Michelle M. Cloutier, MD
2018 George D. Thurston, ScD
2019 Dona J. Upson, MD, MA
2020 Janice E. Nolen, MA
2021 Digambar Behera, MD
2022 Adam Edward Lang, PharmD
2023 Christine Mary Garvey MSN, MPA, FNP, MSN

To nominate a colleague, please go to