2021 Respiratory Health Awardees

HomeProgram ▶ 2021 Respiratory Health Awards

J. Burns Amberson Lecture

The Amberson Lecturer is an individual with a career of major international lifetime contributions to clinical or basic pulmonary research and/or clinical practice. The Lecture is given in honor of James Burns Amberson, an international authority on chest disease and tuberculosis. The Amberson Lecture also recognizes exemplary
professionalism, collegiality and citizenship through mentorship and leadership in the ATS community.

Sally E. Wenzel, MD

Dr. Wenzel's Amberson Lecture Presentation: "Under the Asthma Umbrella: From Phenotypes to Fundamentals"

Edward Livingston Trudeau Medal

The Trudeau Medalist is an individual with lifelong major contributions to prevention, diagnosis and treatment of lung disease through leadership in research, education, or clinical care. This award acknowledges exemplary professionalism, collegiality and citizenship in the ATS community. The Trudeau Medal was established in 1926 and is given in honor of Edward Livingston Trudeau, a founder and the first president of the American Lung Association.

Polly E. Parsons, MD, ATSF


Recognition Award for Scientific Accomplishments

The Recognition Award for Scientific Accomplishments recognizes outstanding scientific contributions in basic or clinical research to enhance the understanding, prevention and treatment of respiratory disease or critical illness. Awardees are selected based on contributions made throughout their careers or for major contributions made at a particular point in their careers.

Jason H.T. Bates, PhD, DSc, ATSF

Dr. Bate's Presentation: "Using Computer Models to Understand Pulmonary Pathophysiology"

Farrah Kheradmand, MD, MS

Dr. Kheradmand's Presentation: "Searching for the Immunopathogenesis of Human Emphysema: Are We There Yet?"

Fernando J. Martinez, MD, MS

Dr. Martinez's Presentation: "Making the Most of the Clinic: A Primer on Translation in IPF"

Joseph Zabner, MD

Dr. Zabner's Presentation: "Finding the Cure for Cystic Fibrosis"

Distinguished Achievement Award

Distinguished Achievement awardees are individuals who have made outstanding major contribution(s) to fighting pulmonary disease, critical illness and sleep disorders through research, education, patient care or advocacy. The award acknowledges their exemplary professionalism, collegiality and citizenship in lung health and the research community.

Antonino Catanzaro, MD


Theodore F. Reiss, MD, MBE, ATSF


World Lung Health Award

The World Lung Health Award recognizes the awardee's contributions to improving world lung health in the area of translational or implementation research, delivery of healthcare, continuing education or care of patients with lung disease, or related political advocacy. There is a a special emphasis on efforts that have the potential to eliminate gender, racial, ethnic, or economic health disparities worldwide.

William Checkley, MD, PhD


Jo Rae Wright Award for Outstanding Science

The Jo Rae Wright Award for Outstanding Science recognizes demonstrated potential for significant achievement and contributions. This award is aimed at the rising generation of individuals who will be tomorrow’s leaders in science. An awardee should be at a career stage, which is at, or beyond postdoctoral fellowship but NOT above the rank of Assistant Professor (or equivalent).

Katherine Cahill, MD


Public Service Award

The Public Service Award recognizes the awardee's contribution to public and population health equity related to, for example, improvement of air quality, eradication of tobacco usage, prevention of lung disease, advocacy. The award also recognizes the awardee's contribution to the improved management of communicable respiratory diseases, or improvement in the ethical delivery, and access to healthcare in areas related to lung diseases, sleep health, or critical care.

Digambar Behera, MD


Outstanding Educator Award

The Outstanding Educator Award recognizes lifetime contributions in education and mentoring in the fields of pulmonary, critical care or sleep medicine. This award honors excellence in clinical or research education as it relates to pulmonary disease.

Jennifer McCallister, MD, ATSF


Research Innovation and Translation Achievement Award

The Research Innovation and Translation Achievement Award is presented to an individual whose contributions demonstrate real-world innovation with tangible benefits to address unmet respiratory healthcare needs. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to the advancement of respiratory research focused on specific innovations to improve health by advancing practice, policy and health care delivery. This includes, but is not limited to drug/device discovery and development, implementation and regulatory science, as well as basic, translational, clinical, public health and health services research. The award also recognizes their accomplishments and role as leaders pursuing team science through collaborative approaches, both interdisciplinary and inter-institutional.

David H. Au, MD, MS, ATSF


Outstanding Clinician Award

The Outstanding Clinician award is presented to an individual who embodies excellence in the clinical practice of lung health medicine and is an exemplary community or academic clinician. A substantial part of the awardee’s career is spent in the clinical care of patients with lung disease. The awardee has made substantial contributions to the American Thoracic Society and American Lung Association on a local or national level.

Samuel Louie, MD


To view past awardees click here.

For more information, please contact conference@thoracic.org.