HomeProgram ▶ 2017 Respiratory Health Awardees
2017 Respiratory Health Awardees

Amberson Lecture

The Amberson Lecturer is an individual with a career of major lifetime contributions to clinical or basic pulmonary research and/or clinical practice. The Lecture is given in honor of James Burns Amberson, an international authority on chest disease and tuberculosis.
Lecturer: Peter D. Pare, MD, Vancouver, Canada

Trudeau Medal

The Trudeau Medalist is an individual with lifelong major contributions to prevention, diagnosis and treatment of lung disease through leadership in research, education, or clinical care. This award was established in 1926 and is given in honor of Edward Livingston Trudeau, a founder and the first president of the American Lung Association.
Awardee: Sharon I.S. Rounds, MD, Providence, RI

Distinguished Achievement Award

The Distinguished Achievement Award is given to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to fighting respiratory disease through research, education, patient care, or advocacy.
Jack Gauldie, Dsc, PhD, Hamilton, Canada
Steven D. Shapiro, MD, Pittsburgh, PA

World Lung Health Award

The World Lung Health Award recognizes contributions to improving world lung health in the area of translational or implementation research, delivery of healthcare, continuing education or care of patients with lung disease, or related political advocacy with a special emphasis on efforts that have the potential to eliminate gender, racial, ethnic, or economic health disparities worldwide.
Awardee: Surendra Kumar Sharma, MBBS, MD, PhD, New Delhi, India

Outstanding Educator Award

The Outstanding Educator Award recognizes lifetime contributions in education and mentoring in the fields of pulmonary, critical care or sleep medicine. This award honors excellence in clinical or research education as it relates to pulmonary disease.
Awardee: Henry E. Fessler, MD, Baltimore, MD

Jo Rae Wright Award for Outstanding Science

Jo Rae Wright Award for Outstanding Science recognizes demonstrated potential for significant achievement and contributions. This award is aimed at the rising generation of individuals who will be tomorrow’s leaders in science.
Awardee: Hallie C. Prescott, MD, MSci, Ann Arbor, MI

Public Service Award

The Public Service Award recognizes contributions to public health related to improvement of indoor and outdoor air quality, eradication of tobacco usage, prevention of lung disease, improved management of communicable respiratory diseases, or improvement in the ethical delivery, and access to healthcare in areas related to lung diseases, sleep disorders, or critical care. There is a special emphasis on efforts that have the potential to eliminate gender, racial, ethnic or economic disparities.
Awardee: Michelle M. Cloutier, MD, Hartford, CT

Recognition Awards for Scientific Accomplishments

The Recognition Award for Scientific Accomplishments recognizes outstanding scientific contributions in basic or clinical research to enhance the understanding, prevention and treatment of respiratory disease or critical illness. Awardees are selected based on contributions made throughout their careers or for major contributions made at a particular point in their careers. Awardees will make a 25-minute presentation on their research.
John V. Fahy, MD, MSc, San Francisco, CA
Andrew P. Fontenot, MD, Aurora, CO
Alison Morris, MD, MS, Pittsburgh, PA
Andrew M. Tager, MD, Charlestown, MA

Research Innovation and Translation Achievement Award

Research Innovation and Translation Achievement Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the advancement of respiratory research focused on specific innovations to improve health by advancing practice, policy and health care delivery. This includes, but is not limited to drug/device discovery and development, implementation and regulatory science, as well as basic, translational, clinical, public health and health services research. The awardee’s contributions demonstrate real-world innovation with tangible benefits to address unmet respiratory healthcare needs. The award also recognizes their accomplishments and role as a leader pursuing team science through collaborative approaches, both interdisciplinary and inter-institutional.
Awardee: Avrum Spira, MD, MSc, Boston, MA