HomeProgram ▶ Conference Faculty and Planners Disclosures
Conference Faculty and Planners Disclosures

In accordance with the ACCME Standards for Commercial Support, and those of the ATS Policy on Management of Conflict of Interest in Official ATS Documents, Projects and Conferences, ATS Policy Governing Relationships Between the Tobacco Industry, ATS Members, and Non-Members Who Participate in ATS Activities, and ATS Policy on Professionalism and Ethical Conduct chairs, moderators, presenters and official planners of the International Conference are required to disclose to ATS any potential conflicts of interest (COI) held by them or their spouse/life partner relevant to their presentation(s) or conference role, including all professional or other financial involvement with tobacco or e-cigarette entities, all relevant financial relationships with commercial interests, and all other relationships that could be perceived as influencing their participation. Conference presenters are also asked to disclose if there will be any discussion in the presentation of “off-label” (unapproved) use of substances/products not approved in the United States for the use under discussion (as per the U.S. Food and Drug Administration Guidance for Industry: Industry-Supported Scientific and Educational Activities).

For the 2018 International Conference, this disclosure information for all individuals in control of content was requested and received by ATS in advance of the Conference, reviewed by appropriate ATS reviewers, and session chairs and others in positions of authority were instructed to manage (resolve) identified faculty conflicts according to procedures overseen by the ATS Ethics and Conflict of Interest Committee.

Faculty Disclosures

To access the disclosures made by the faculty of the 2018 International Conference, please go to

Planners Disclosures

The following members of the Education Committee have disclosed no financial relationships with commercial interests:

Debra M. Boyer, MD, Chair
Jason T. Poston, MD, Vice Chair
Mark K. Abe, MD
Shozab Ahmed, MBBS
William G. Carlos, MD
Josalyn L. Cho, MD
Alison S. Clay, MD
Walter D. Conwell, MD
Basak Coruh, MD
Daniel R. Crouch, MD, MS
Charles Dela Cruz, MD, PhD
DorAnne M. Donesky, PhD, ANP-BC
Garth Garrison, MD
Margaret M. Hayes, MD
Amjad Horani, MD
Shazia M. Jamil, MD
Jack Kelly
Denay P. Kirkpatrick, DNP
Hrishkesh S. Kulkarni, MD
Abagail R. Lara, MD
Patrick Lyons, MD
Samir Makani, MD
Jakob I. McSparron, MD
Paul E. Moore, MD
Viswam S. Nair, MSCR, MD
Susan Pasnick, MD
Hetal J. Patel, MD
Jessica E. Pittman, MD, MPH
Jordan S. Rettig, MD
Leopoldo N. Segal, MD
Mark D. Siegal, MD
Carolyn H. Welsh, MD

The following members of the Education Committee have disclosed the following financial relationships with commercial interests:

Tisha S. Wang, MD, Vice Chair: Theravance Biopharma Inc. (Advisory Committee)
Caralee E. Caplan-Shaw, MD: AristaMD (Consultant); Cohero Health (Consultant; Stocks, Stock Options); Myriad Genetic Laboratories (Spouse-Consultant); Veran Medical Technologies, Inc. (Food/Beverage Only); Bard Peripheral Vascular, Inc. (Spouse-Food/Beverage Only); Cook Incorporated (food/Beverage Only, Spouse-CME Speaker); MedImmune, LLC, Novartis Pharma AG and Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. (Research Support)
Colleen L. Channick, MD: Actelion Pharmaceuticals US, Inc. and Bayer HealthCare Pharmaceuticals Inc. (Spouse- Consultant); Medtronic, Inc. and Olympus Corporation of the Americas (Consultant)
Jeremy E. Orr, MD: ResMed Corp (Other transfers of value unrelated to service rendered)
Samaan Rafeq, MD: Boston Scientific (Consultant, Speaker)
Mary E. Strek, MD: Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals (Data and Safety Monitoring Board, Research Support); Gilead Sciences Inc, InterMune, Inc., MedImmune LLC, and Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated (Research Support)
Bishoy Zakhary, MD: ELSO ECMO Training Courses and ACCP (Course Instructor)

The following members of the International Conference Committee have disclosed no financial relationships with commercial interests:

Jess Mandel, MD, Chair
Eric S. White, MD, MS, Chair Appointee
Alison K. Bauer, PhD
Vinicio De Jesus Perez, MD
Michelle Eakin, PhD
Laura C. Feemster, MSc, MD
Andrew P. Fontenot, MD
Michelle N. Gong, MD, MS
Jill L. Guttormson, PhD, MD, RN
Tillie-Louise Hackett, PhD
Leila Kheirandish-Gozal, MD, MS
Patty Lee, MD
Tricia D. LeVan, PhD
William Man, MD, PhD
Benjamin D. Medoff, MD
Sangeeta Mehta, MD
Paul E. Moore, MD
Patrick Nana-Sinkam, MD
Chun Seow, PhD
Christopher G. Slatore, MD
Esra Tasali, MD
Judith Tate, PhD, RN
Rachel Thomson, MBBS
Lisa R. Young, MD

The following members of the International Conference Committee have disclosed the following financial relationships with commercial interests:

Brian W. Carlin, MD: AstraZeneca and Nonin (Advisory Committee); Sunovion (Advisory Committee, Speaker); Monaghan Medical Corporation (Consultant, Speaker); Boehringer Ingelheim b.v. and GlaxoSmithKline, LLC (Speaker)

Harold R. Collard, MD: AstraZeneca AB, Genentech, Inc., GlaxoSmithKline, LLC, Grunenthal USA Inc and UCB Biosciences Inc. (Advisory Committee); Aeolus, aTyr Pharmaceuticals, Bayer HealthCare Pharmaceuticals Inc., Biogen Idec Inc., Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Bristol-Myers Squibb Company, Genoa, Gilead Sciences Inc, Global Blood Therapeutics, FibroGen, ImmuneWorks, InterMune, Inc., MedImmune, LLC, Moerae Matrix, Navitor, Patara, Patient Like Me, Pharmakea, Prometic, Pulmatrix, Unity and Veracyte (Consultant)

Sharon D.M. Dell, MD: Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation and Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated (Consultant)

Tim Lahm, MD: Bayer HealthCare Pharmaceuticals Inc. (Research Support, Speaker)

Mark L. Metersky, MD: Aradigm (Research Support, Consultant); Bayer, EBSCO, Grifols, S.A. and Insmed (Consultant)

Frank C. Sciurba, MD: Boehringer Ingelheim b.v., Pulmonx Corporation, Spiration, Inc. (Research Support); BTG (Research Support, Consultant)