Call for 2016 Award Nominations

given by the American Thoracic Society

The ATS Awards Committee invites you to submit nominations recognizing individuals who have made outstanding contributions to respiratory, critical care and sleep medicine through research, clinical care, education or public service. Awards will be presented at the ATS 2016 International Conference in San Francisco, CA.


  • Complete the Awards Nomination form.
  • Upload one letter of recommendation for your nominee outlining his or her qualifications and indicate for which award(s) he/she is being nominated.
  • Upload the nominee’s current curriculum vitae including a list of the nominee’s publications

Click here to nominate someone for the 2016 Respiratory Health Awards

The deadline for nominations is September 30, 2015.

Please take advantage of this opportunity to recognize a colleague at the ATS International Conference.

The ATS will ask all nominees to complete a form for disclosure of potential conflicts of interest with the Society’s mission.

Awards Descriptions:

J. Burns Amberson Lecture: recognizes a career of major lifetime contributions to clinical or basic pulmonary research and/or clinical practice. The Lecture is given in honor of J. Burns Amberson, an international authority on chest disease and tuberculosis. When submitting nominees for the Amberson Lecturer, please provide possible lecture topics.

Edward Livingston Trudeau Medal: recognizes lifelong major contributions to the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of lung disease through leadership in research, education or clinical care. This award is given in honor of Edward Livingston Trudeau, a founder and the first president of the American Lung Association.

Distinguished Achievement Award: outstanding contributions to fighting respiratory disease through research, education, patient care or advocacy. Up to two awards may be given each year.

Outstanding Educator Award: recognizes lifetime contributions in education and mentoring in the fields of pulmonary, critical care or sleep medicine. This award honors excellence in clinical or research education as it relates to pulmonary disease.

Public Service Award: recognizes contributions to public health related to improvement of indoor and outdoor air quality, eradication of tobacco usage, prevention of lung disease, improved management of communicable respiratory diseases, or improvement in the ethical delivery, and access to healthcare in areas related to lung diseases, sleep disorders, or critical care. There is a special emphasis on efforts that have the potential to eliminate gender, racial, ethnic or economic disparities.

Recognition Award for Scientific Accomplishments: recognizes outstanding scientific contributions in basic or clinical research to the understanding, prevention and treatment of respiratory disease or critical illness. Candidates may be considered for contributions made throughout their careers or for major contributions made at a particular point in their careers. To be considered, the candidate must be an active member of the ATS. Awardees will make a 25-minute presentation on their research. Up to four awards may be given each year.

World Lung Health Award: recognizes contributions to improving world lung health in the area of translational or implementation research, delivery of healthcare, continuing education or care of patients with lung disease, or related political advocacy with a special emphasis on efforts that have the potential to eliminate gender, racial, ethnic, or economic health disparities worldwide.

Jo Rae Wright Award for Outstanding Science: recognizes demonstrated potential for significant achievement and contributions. This award is aimed at the rising generation of individuals who will be tomorrow’s leaders in science.

Nominees for each award will be considered by the ATS Awards Committee, whose decisions are final.

Note: It is the prerogative of the Awards Committee to evaluate the nominations and to determine whether a candidate may be more suitable for an alternate award based on criteria and the candidate’s credentials.

If you have any questions, please e-mail

Andrew J. Halayko
ATS Awards Committee