2013 Awardees

The ATS International Conference 2013 Awards Session will be held on Sunday, May 19, 4:45 pm-6:30 pm

The following Awards will be given:

Amberson Lecture

The Amberson Lecturer is an individual with a career of major lifetime contributions to clinical or basic pulmonary research and/or clinical practice. The Lecture is given in honor of James Burns Amberson, an international authority on chest disease and tuberculosis.

Lecturer: David A. Schwartz, MD, Denver, CO

Trudeau Medal

The Trudeau Medalist is an individual with lifelong major contributions to prevention, diagnosis and treatment of lung disease through leadership in research, education, or clinical care. This award was established in 1926 and is given in honor of Edward Livingston Trudeau, a founder and the first president of the American Lung Association.

Awardee: Jonathan M. Samet, MD, MS, Los Angeles, CA

Distinguished Achievement Award

The Distinguished Achievement Award is given to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to fighting respiratory disease through research, education, patient care, or advocacy.


Polly E. Parsons, MD, Burlington, VT
Alan L. Plummer, MD, Atlanta, GA

Jo Rae Wright Award for Outstanding Science

The Jo Rae Wright Award for Outstanding Science is based on demonstrated potential for significant scientific achievement and contributions. This award is aimed at the rising generation of individuals who will be tomorrow’s leaders in science.

Awardee: Peter Chen, MD, Seatlle, WA

Outstanding Clinician Award

The Outstanding Clinician Award is presented to an individual who embodies excellence in the clinical practice of lung health medicine. The awardee has spent a substantial part of his/her career in the clinical care of patients with lung disease, and has made substantial contributions to the American Thoracic Society and American Lung Association on a local or national level.

Awardee: Allen R. Thomas, MD, Phoenix, AZ

Outstanding Educator Award

The Outstanding Educator Award recognizes lifetime contributions in education and mentoring in the fields of pulmonary, critical care or sleep medicine. This award honors excellence in clinical or research education as it relates to pulmonary disease.

Awardee: Leslie H. Zimmerman, MD, San Francisco, CA

Public Service Award

This award is presented for contributions in the public health arena related to respiratory disease and medicine.

Awardee: Kathleen Kreiss, MD, Morgantown, WV

World Lung Health Award

The World Lung Health Award is given to individuals with recognized contributions to world lung health in the area of basic or clinical research, delivery of healthcare, continuing education or care of patients with lung disease.

Awardee: E. Jane Carter, MD, Providence, RI

Recognition Awards For Scientific Accomplishments

The Recognition Awards for Scientific Accomplishments will be held on
Monday, May 20, 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm

The Recognition Award for Scientific Accomplishments is given to individuals for outstanding scientific contributions in basic or clinical research to the understanding, prevention and treatment of lung disease. Those considered for the award are recognized for either scientific contributions throughout their careers or for major contributions at a particular point in their careers.


Timothy S. Blackwell, MD, Nashville, TN
Mark T. Gladwin, MD, Pittsburgh, PA
Naftali Kaminski, MD, Pittsburgh, PA
Paul W. Noble, MD, Los Angeles, CA