Jo Rae Wright Award for Outstanding Science

Jo Rae Wright, PhD and former ATS President, focused her career in two main areas: the advancement of science and mentoring the succeeding generation of scientists. Early in 2012, Dr. Wright lost her courageous fight against breast cancer. To honor her memory and her illustrious career, the American Thoracic Society established the Jo Rae Wright Award for Outstanding Science.

This award is based on demonstrated potential for significant scientific achievement and contributions. As noted, Dr. Wright dedicated her life’s work to assisting promising young scientists in a variety of disciplines, which is why this award is aimed at the rising generation of individuals who will be tomorrow’s leaders in science.

As a fitting testimony to her work, we are pleased that the first recipient of the award was a young colleague from Dr. Wright’s own laboratory at Duke University.

2012 Julie G. Ledford, PhD
2013 Peter Chen, MD